The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) serves more than 600,000 students in kindergarten through 12th grade and is the second largest school district in the United States.

Founded in 1853, the LAUSD extends across more than 700 square miles and includes Los Angeles, California, parts of thirty-one other municipalities, and sections of unincorporated Los Angeles County. Approximately 4.8 million people live within the LAUSD’s boundaries.

There are more than 1,000 schools in the LAUSD, including more than 200 independently-operated public charter schools.

In the LAUSD, ten languages other than English are being taught, and the student population is comprised of:

  • 74% Latino students
  • 10.5% White students
  • 8.5% African American students
  • 4.2% Asian students

(note this data was compiled in the 2017-2018 school year)

The Los Angeles Unified School District is comprised of six local districts:

  • LAUSD Central District
  • LAUSD East District
  • LAUSD Northeast District
  • LAUSD Northwest District
  • LAUSD South District
  • LAUSD West District

In the 2018-2019 school year, more than 25,000 teachers were employed by the LAUSD.

At Education For Equity, we offer salary point classes for teachers who work in the LAUSD. By earning LAUSD salary points, teachers can not only increase their pay while they’re working, but they can also increase the salary base that’s used to calculate their retirement benefits.

Our LAUSD salary point classes are 100% online, and we offer 1-point LAUSD salary point classes, 2-point LAUSD salary point classes, and 3-point LAUSD salary point classes.